# Buddy Sandboxes

Official pricing: https://buddy.works/pricing  
Category: agent-sandbox · Isolation: vm

## Pricing regimes (raw)

- **On-demand** (resource): $0.0144/vCPU-h, $0.0144/GiB-h

## Features

Yes: snapshots, fork/clone, pause/resume, persistent disk, idle auto-stop, ≥24 h sessions, custom image (Docker or snapshot), start from your own snapshot, full VM (own kernel), Docker inside, root, preinstalled agents, SSH, HTTPS preview URLs, custom domains, raw TCP inbound, SOC 2, SSO, Python, Node.js, Go, wake on request, live resize, live fork (no pause), EU data residency, MCP server, snapshots on demand, gVisor or VM (no shared kernel), inbound access rules, firewall inside (nftables), FUSE mounts, kernel features (eBPF, mounts, cgroups)

No: memory snapshots, volumes, your own Docker/OCI image, browser, desktop GUI, computer-use API, browser + desktop control, anti-bot stealth, CAPTCHA solving, residential IPs, public IPv4, egress allowlist, static egress IP, self-hosting, BYOC, open source, HIPAA, GPU, arm64, Windows, macOS, HTTP method/path egress rules, memory fork, usage per sandbox (API), automatic snapshots, agent harness API, hosted agent API (their own agent), secret proxy, secret proxy for any API, extra volumes, shared volumes

Unknown: everything else. Evidence (source + quote) per feature: https://battleships.dev/data/providers/buddy.json → feature_evidence

## Company

- Ownership: bootstrapped
- Stage: bootstrapped [source](https://getlatka.com/companies/buddy.works)
- Accelerators: none found
- Total raised: unknown
- Last round: unknown (unknown)
- Revenue: $3.1M (estimated: GetLatka estimate (aggregator model, not company-confirmed)) [source](https://getlatka.com/companies/buddy.works) ARR, 2025

Buddy (buddy.works), founded 2015, HQ Warsaw, Poland; CEO/founder Simon Szczepankowski. Long-running, small-team (~28 employees per GetLatka, 2025/2026) DevOps/CI-CD platform now adding a 'Sandboxes for AI agents' product (launching Oct 7 2026 per its site). No evidence of any external funding round, accelerator participation, or acquisition was found; the company appears to be an independent, privately held, likely self-funded (bootstrapped) business rather than VC-backed. All funding/stage fields are best-effort inference given absence of data, not confirmed facts — flagged accordingly.

## Caveats

- Plan fees are EUR (Pro €29, Hyper €99; no USD fee published, so these plans stay fee:null and are never auto-picked); sandbox overage rates are published in USD. Pro includes 7,300 GB-h, Hyper 14,600 GB-h; all plans 300 CPU-min.
- Rates: CPU $0.00024/CPU-minute on buddy.works/pricing; RAM $0.0144/GB-h from Buddy's own estimator on buddy.works/sandboxes (not stated as text on the pricing page). The pricing page's "$0.00011 per GB-hour" never says whether a GB-hour is RAM or disk; with RAM priced separately by the estimator it is read as disk, so disk_gib_month 0.0803 = $0.00011 x 730 is derived, not published as a per-GB-month price. CPU/RAM billed on allocation (the estimator ignores CPU utilisation).
- Buddy sandboxes are being launched (webinar "Live on October 7th" 2026); concurrency limits per plan not published.
- Features set to null were not verified. No sandbox was purchased or tested; feature/performance statements are documentation claims. Null maximums are unknown unless a cited note explicitly states unlimited.
- A complete monthly bill requires known snapshot/egress/plan limits; do not silently treat missing ancillary charges as free.
- docker_inside=true per buddy.works/docs/sandboxes/introduction ("run Docker inside it"). Isolation "vm" is inferred from "behaves like a virtual machine you own" + kernel-parameter changes; the underlying hypervisor is not named. Nested virt / desktop not documented (null).
- Plan allowances are two separate, non-fungible buckets: only 300 sandbox CPU-minutes (5 CPU-hours) per month on every plan, plus 730/7,300/14,600 sandbox GB-hours (Free/Pro/Hyper). A 2 CPU sandbox exhausts the CPU allowance in 2.5 h.
- No sandbox timeout by default: a sandbox keeps running (and billing) until stopped unless a timeout is set; snapshots never expire and are not deleted with their sandbox.
- Resources are fixed 2 GB per CPU presets from 1x2 to 12x24 (plus an undocumented 'CUSTOM' option in the API/YAML schema); disk is always 50 GB, not configurable.
- Free workspaces are frozen after 60 days without a login and deleted 30 days later.
- Conflict (rechecked 2026-10-14): buddy.works/pricing lists "300 sandbox CPU-minutes 730 sandbox GB-hours" on Free, but the plan docs (https://buddy.works/docs/basics/billing-and-usage/features, last modified Jul 31, 2026) say "Free tier gives you access to all the base features of Buddy with only exception being 2FA and Sandboxes." and Pro "has access to most of the features, including Sandboxes". Prices here use Free (the pricing page). If the docs are right, the cheapest sandbox option is Pro (EUR 29/mo + usage), which the engine cannot price because the fee is EUR-only.
- Stopped sandboxes keep billing for disk: "Compute stops being charged. The disk you keep is billed at the storage rate." (buddy.works/sandboxes FAQ, 2026-10-14). Disk is a fixed 50 GB, so on the derived $0.0803/GB-month rate a kept sandbox costs ~$4/month in storage, minus whatever the plan's GB-hour allowance covers.

## How this provider charges


As of 2026-09-28. Prices are USD unless explicitly labelled otherwise. Source type: official published list/promo or unknown, never a fabricated quote.

Rendered list prices are EUR, not USD; no FX guess. Pro €29/month, Hyper €99/month. Both include 300 sandbox CPU-min/month; RAM pools differ. Sandbox billing must not be confused with pipeline GB-minutes or pipeline concurrency.

| Regime | When it applies | How billed / numbers | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | 1 seat | €0; 300 sandbox CPU-min and 730 GB-hours/month. | https://buddy.works/pricing |
| Pro | 2 seats included | €29/month; 300 CPU-min and 7,300 GB-hours; CPU overage €0.00024/min, RAM €0.00011/GB-h. | https://buddy.works/pricing |
| Hyper | 5 seats included | €99/month; 300 CPU-min and 14,600 GB-hours; same sandbox overage rates. | https://buddy.works/pricing |
| Seat / pipeline add-ons | Not sandbox counts | Pro extra seat €9; Hyper €29; pipeline concurrent €50/mo; do not treat as sandbox concurrent quota. | https://buddy.works/pricing |

## Gotchas

- Rendered list prices are EUR, not USD; no FX guess. Pro €29/month, Hyper €99/month. Both include 300 sandbox CPU-min/month; RAM pools differ. Sandbox billing must not be confused with pipeline GB-minutes or pipeline concurrency.
- Not fully priceable in ENGINE_CARD: unknown USD resource rates or machine shape. Null is not zero; do not rank as a free provider.
- Features set to null were not verified. No sandbox was purchased or tested; feature/performance statements are documentation claims. Null maximums are unknown unless a cited note explicitly states unlimited.
- A complete monthly bill requires known snapshot/egress/plan limits; do not silently treat missing ancillary charges as free.

## Worked workload

4 vCPU / 8 GiB; 50 simultaneous instances × 8 h/day × 22 days = **8,800 instance-hours**, **35,200 vCPU-hours**, **70,400 GiB-hours**. At 30% observed CPU:10,560 active-vCPU-hours only where the meter actually uses utilization. Assume one start/instance/day:1,100starts. Retain50GiB snapshots for a month;100GiB outbound. Active disk capacity was not specified.

No USD total without a dated exchange rate and CPU-basis confirmation. At allocation basis, 4/8 workload is 2,112,000 CPU-min and 70,400 GB-h. Pro sandbox overage = (2,112,000−300)×€0.00024+(70,400−7,300)×€0.00011 = €513.749, plus €29 fee. If CPU meter is actual CPU time, use 633,600 CPU-min instead. Snapshot and 50-way quota unknown.

## Sources

- https://buddy.works/pricing
- https://buddy.works/docs/sandboxes
- https://buddy.works/docs/sandboxes/configuration
- https://buddy.works/docs/sandboxes/lifecycle
- https://buddy.works/docs/sandboxes/snapshots
