# Beam

Official pricing: https://www.beam.cloud/pricing  
Category: agent-sandbox · Isolation: gvisor

## Pricing regimes (raw)

- **Sandbox (CPU), per-ms on allocated cores + RAM** (resource): $0.0675/vCPU-h, $0.02304/GiB-h
- **Sandbox with GPU (rate not published)** (resource): $0.189/vCPU-h, $0.0198/GiB-h
- **Serverless function / pod (not a sandbox), 1/3 of sandbox CPU rate** (resource): $0.0225/vCPU-h, $0.00756/GiB-h [alt]
- **On-demand GPU machine, 1x RTX 4090 (8 vCPU / 64 GiB bundled)** (resource): $0/vCPU-h, $0/GiB-h
- **On-demand GPU machine, 1x A6000 (8 vCPU / 64 GiB bundled)** (resource): $0/vCPU-h, $0/GiB-h
- **On-demand GPU machine, 1x RTX 5090 (12 vCPU / 64 GiB bundled)** (resource): $0/vCPU-h, $0/GiB-h
- **On-demand GPU machine, 1x L40S (12 vCPU / 96 GiB bundled)** (resource): $0/vCPU-h, $0/GiB-h
- **On-demand GPU machine, 1x RTX PRO 6000 (16 vCPU / 128 GiB bundled)** (resource): $0/vCPU-h, $0/GiB-h

## Features

Yes: snapshots, memory snapshots, fork/clone, persistent disk, volumes, idle auto-stop, ≥24 h sessions, custom image (Docker or snapshot), start from your own snapshot, your own Docker/OCI image, Docker inside, root, SSH, HTTPS preview URLs, raw TCP inbound, egress allowlist, open internet, static egress IP, self-hosting, BYOC, open source, SOC 2, HIPAA, GPU, Python, Node.js, live fork (no pause), memory fork, webhooks, scheduled runs (cron), EU data residency, MCP server, snapshots on demand, gVisor or VM (no shared kernel), inbound access rules, extra volumes, shared volumes

No: pause/resume, full VM (own kernel), nested virtualization, systemd, browser, desktop GUI, computer-use API, code interpreter, browser + desktop control, anti-bot stealth, CAPTCHA solving, residential IPs, preinstalled agents, public IPv4, custom domains, SSO, arm64, Windows, macOS, GPU desktop, HTTP method/path egress rules, wake on request, live resize, automatic snapshots, agent harness API, hosted agent API (their own agent), fast boot (benchmarked), firewall inside (nftables), secret proxy, secret proxy for any API

Unknown: everything else. Evidence (source + quote) per feature: https://battleships.dev/data/providers/beam.json → feature_evidence

## Caveats

- CPU is priced per physical core = 2 vCPU; vcpu_h is the per-core price / 2. The SDK documents cpu= as "The number of CPU cores allocated to the container. Default is 1.0" (default memory 128 MiB), so cpu=1 = 1 billed core = 2 vCPU as priced. Whether a 'core' in the SDK is a full physical core (2 hyperthreads) is not stated explicitly.
- Dated price change: Beam blogs of June 2026 quote sandbox CPU $0.0000528/core-s ($0.19/core-h) and RAM $0.0000056/GB-s; current page $0.0000375 and $0.0000064 (CPU -29%, RAM +14%).
- Sandbox CPU/RAM are 3x the serverless container rate (alt mode). The page's cost calculator uses the serverless rate, not the sandbox rate.
- free.monthly_credit set null (2026-09-28): the $30/month Developer credit appears on the 2026-08-29 Wayback capture of beam.cloud/pricing but not on 2026-09-12 or the live page; legacy-account entitlement unknown, so no credit is deducted. https://web.archive.org/web/20260829214155/https://www.beam.cloud/pricing , https://web.archive.org/web/20260912172148/https://www.beam.cloud/pricing
- Idle keep_warm TTL tail is billed at full rate until expiry (sandbox examples 30 min-2 h; -1 never expires).
- Snapshots (filesystem images and memory snapshots) included free; volumes free up to 1 TB then $0.021/GB-month; egress free.
- Sandbox GPU pricing is not published; the sandbox-gpu regime is left unpriced (gpu rates null). On-demand GPU machine prices conflict between pricing page and docs GPU page (pricing page used).
- Isolation: pricing FAQ says non-root containers; Beam's blog says gVisor; features file noted runc in CLI prompt. No root / systemd.
- Max sandbox size and max lifetime unpublished. Region placement (EU/Asia) only by contacting Beam; no region multiplier published.
- BYOC fee is per vCPU and excludes the cloud VM bill. Self-hosted beta9 (AGPL) has no Beam fee.
- perf from benchmarks.json (computesdk cold start 105 ms, burst 1,324 ms, dax 64.9 s); no hpc CPU result.
- unverified: may bill active CPU/RAM. Beam's sandbox docs say "You only pay for what you use. Start small and scale up as needed." but no page says whether billing uses requested or consumed cpu/memory; alloc (requested) assumed as the upper bound.
- BYOC regime is a management fee only: add your own cloud bill (compute, storage, egress from AWS/GCP/Azure).
- Sandbox root-filesystem size and price are not published (pricing/billing/sandbox-configuration pages re-checked 2026-09-28); only storage volumes are priced (free up to 1 TB, then $0.021/GB-month). Disk left unknown.
- Durable disks: node-local SSD persistent directory snapshotted to object storage, single writer, attachable to Pod, function, endpoint, task_queue and Sandbox; price not published.
- Opt-in VM sandboxes (SDK use_vm, Cloud Hypervisor microVM, CPU only, added 2026-09-26) are in the SDK but not in docs or on the pricing page; rate unknown, not modelled.

## How this provider charges


Beam (beam.cloud, Smartshare Inc.; open-source core "beta9") sells several products off one account:
- sandboxes
- serverless functions/endpoints (CPU or GPU)
- flat-price on-demand GPU machines
- reserved GPU clusters
- BYOC (a management fee on your own cloud)

Everything is billed **per millisecond while the container runs**. Pricing is per **physical core = 2 vCPU**.

The sandbox CPU rate is **3x** the serverless CPU rate (RAM about 3.05x). Plans set concurrency and seats only. The plan fee is **not** usage credit.

## Regime table

| # | Regime | When it applies | How billed | Numbers | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Sandbox, CPU (current price sheet) | `Sandbox(cpu=…, memory=…)` running | Per ms on allocated cores + GiB, from when your code starts (machine start and image pull not billed) until terminate / keep_warm expiry | $0.0000375/core-s = $0.135/core-h = **$0.0675/vCPU-h**. $0.0000064/GiB-s = **$0.02304/GiB-h**. Page example: 1 core (2 vCPU) / 8 GiB = $0.319/h. 4 vCPU/8 GiB = **$0.4543/h** | https://www.beam.cloud/pricing |
| 2 | Sandbox, CPU (**previous** price, June 2026) | Dated: Beam's own blogs of 2026-06-04 and 2026-06-27 | Same basis | $0.0000528/core-s ($0.19/core-h = $0.095/vCPU-h), RAM $0.0000056/GB-s ($0.0202/GB-h). So CPU has since fallen ~29% and RAM risen ~14%. 4/8 then = $0.5416/h | https://www.beam.cloud/blog/2026-sandbox-guide, https://www.beam.cloud/blog/modal-pricing-explained |
| 3 | Sandbox with GPU | `Sandbox(gpu="A10G"…)` (the SDK supports it) | Not stated for sandboxes. Presumably the serverless GPU rate + GPU-attached CPU/RAM rate | GPU $/h: RTX 4090 0.6912, RTX 5090 1.0908, H100 3.4992, A10G 1.0512 (June blog). T4 unpriced. GPU-attached CPU $0.000105/core-s ($0.189/vCPU-h), RAM $0.0000055/GiB-s ($0.0198/GiB-h) | /pricing, docs /v2/environment/gpu |
| 4 | Serverless function / endpoint / task queue (CPU), alt product | Not a sandbox: `@function`, `@endpoint`, `@task_queue`, pods | Per ms incl. `on_start` and **keep_warm_seconds** (default 180 s endpoints, 10 s task queues, 600 s pods) | $0.0000125/core-s ($0.0225/vCPU-h), $0.0000021/GiB-s ($0.00756/GiB-h). **1/3 of the sandbox rate** | /pricing, https://docs.beam.cloud/v2/resources/pricing-and-billing |
| 5 | Serverless GPU | GPU functions/endpoints | GPU per s + GPU-attached CPU/RAM | RTX 4090 $0.000192/s, RTX 5090 $0.000303/s, H100 $0.000972/s. Example: 4090 + 2 cores + 16 GiB = $1.77/h | /pricing |
| 6 | On-demand GPU machine (alt) | Flat per machine, bare metal or VM | Hourly flat incl. vCPU/RAM/NVMe ("from" prices) | B200 28vCPU/256GB $4.11. H200 24/192 $2.09. H100 26/200 $1.83. A100-80 16/128 $1.36. RTX PRO 6000 16/128 $1.09. L40S 12/96 $0.76. RTX 5090 12/64 $0.72. A6000 8/64 $0.54. RTX 4090 8/64 $0.44. The docs GPU page shows stale/different figures (A100-80 $1.49, H100 $3.63, 4090 $0.66). June blog: H100 $1.74, H200 $1.99, B200 $3.93 | /pricing, docs /v2/environment/gpu |
| 7 | GPU clusters (8-GPU nodes, InfiniBand) | Reserved monthly/yearly | Contact sales | H100/H200/B200/B300: null | /pricing |
| 8 | BYOC (AWS/GCP/Azure) | Beam orchestrates in your account | Management fee **per vCPU** (not per core) + per GB. Compute billed by your cloud (your credits/discounts) | $0.019/vCPU-h + $0.009/GB-h. Example: g5.2xlarge (8/32) = $0.44/h fee | /pricing FAQ |
| 9 | Self-host (beta9, AGPL-3.0) | Your k8s / EKS | No Beam fee | $0 | https://docs.beam.cloud/v2/self-hosting/overview |
| 10 | Developer plan | Default (card required for pay-as-you-go) | $0/month + usage. 30 CPU / 5 GPU concurrent containers. 1 seat | $0. Beam's June 2026 blog: "$30/month free credits". Not shown on the current pricing page | /pricing, FAQ, blog |
| 11 | Team plan | Fee | $89/month + usage (**not credit**). 1,000 CPU / 50 GPU containers. 3 seats + $25/seat | $89 | /pricing |
| 12 | Growth plan | Contact | Unlimited CPU containers, 1,000+ GPU, unlimited seats, 1-year logs. Price unpublished | null | /pricing |
| 13 | Volume discount | > $10K/month spend | "Volume discounts available", unpublished. Committed spend for serverless GPUs | null | /pricing |
| 14 | Keep-warm / TTL tail | `keep_warm_seconds` (sandbox examples 1800–7200 s; `-1` = never) | Billed as running until TTL expiry or `terminate()`. `update_ttl()` extends | full rate | https://docs.beam.cloud/v2/sandbox/configuration |
| 15 | Snapshots (filesystem image, memory snapshot) | `create_image_from_filesystem()`, `snapshot_memory()` | "Snapshots are included" (free) | $0 | /pricing, pricing-and-billing |
| 16 | Storage volumes / durable disks | Persistent data | Free up to **1 TB** (account), then per GB-month. Not billed as compute while stopped | $0.021/GB-month > 1 TB | /pricing |
| 17 | Egress / bandwidth | Any plan | Free | $0 | /pricing FAQ |
| 18 | Regions | US default; Europe/Asia by contacting Beam | No multiplier published | 1 | docs /v2/environment/gpu |

## Gotchas

1. **Core vs vCPU.** All CPU prices are per *physical core (2 vCPU)*. The sandbox SDK takes `cpu=` with no unit stated (runtime config shows millicores, `cpu:1000`). Whether `cpu=1` is one core (2 vCPU) or one vCPU is **not documented**. If it is 1 vCPU billed as 1 core, the effective price doubles to $0.135/vCPU-h.
2. **The sandbox is 3x the serverless container** for the same CPU. Wrapping the workload as a `@function` or pod costs $0.15/h instead of $0.45/h for 4 vCPU/8 GiB, but you lose the sandbox API (exec, fs, snapshots).
3. **Price changed mid-2026.** June blogs quote $0.19/core-h and $0.0202/GB-h. The current page shows $0.135 and $0.02304. RAM-heavy sandboxes got *more* expensive.
4. **The keep-warm tail is billable.** Beam's own doc examples use 30 min–2 h TTLs. Idle time until expiry is paid in full. `-1` bills until you terminate.
5. **The plan fee is not credit.** Team $89 is on top of usage, and needed for more than 30 concurrent CPU containers (Developer cap). Extra seats cost $25.
6. **Snapshots and memory snapshots are free**, and storage is free to 1 TB. Retained state is essentially free, unlike most rivals.
7. **Egress is free.**
8. **BYOC fee is per vCPU, not per core.** $0.019/vCPU-h is 28% of the managed sandbox's $0.0675/vCPU-h, *before* paying AWS for the VM.
9. **GPU sandbox pricing isn't spelled out.** GPU on-demand "from" prices on the page conflict with the docs' GPU table.
10. **Isolation.** The pricing FAQ says "non-root containers", and Beam's blog says gVisor. There is no root, no Docker-in-sandbox and no systemd.

## Worked example

Workload: 4 vCPU / 8 GiB (= **2 cores**), 50 concurrent × 8 h/day × 22 days = **8,800 sandbox-hours**, 30% util, 50 GiB snapshots, 100 GiB egress.

Assumptions:
- 50 concurrent > 30, so **Team** ($89) is required.
- Sandboxes are terminated (or snapshotted) nightly.

| Regime | Compute | Idle tail | Snapshots 50 GiB | Egress 100 GiB | Plan | **Monthly total** |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sandbox, current rates | 8,800 × (2×0.135 + 8×0.02304) = 8,800 × 0.45432 = $3,998.02 | $0 (terminate explicitly) | $0 (included) | $0 | $89 | **$4,087.02** |
| Sandbox + 30-min keep-warm tail each session | $3,998.02 | 1,100 sessions × 0.5 h × 0.45432 = $249.88 | $0 | $0 | $89 | **$4,336.90** |
| Sandbox, June-2026 rates (historical) | 8,800 × 0.5416 = $4,766.08 | | $0 | $0 | $89 | **$4,855.08** |
| Sandbox, if `cpu=4` is needed for 4 vCPU (billed as 4 cores) | 8,800 × (4×0.135 + 8×0.02304) = $6,374.02 | | $0 | $0 | $89 | **$6,463.02** (worst-case unit reading) |
| Serverless container / pod (alt, not a sandbox) | 8,800 × (2×0.045 + 8×0.00756) = 8,800 × 0.15048 = $1,324.22 | pod default 600 s tail extra | $0 | $0 | $89 | **$1,413.22** |
| BYOC | Fee 8,800 × (4×0.019 + 8×0.009) = $1,302.40, **plus** your cloud's VM bill (not included) | | your cloud | your cloud | $89 (assumed still needed) | **$1,391.40 + cloud compute** |

Other effects:
- The 30% utilisation has no effect (allocated billing).
- If the reported $30/month Developer credit also applies on Team, subtract $30.

Sources: https://www.beam.cloud/pricing · https://docs.beam.cloud/v2/resources/pricing-and-billing · https://docs.beam.cloud/v2/resources/faq · https://docs.beam.cloud/v2/sandbox/configuration · https://docs.beam.cloud/v2/environment/gpu · https://docs.beam.cloud/v2/self-hosting/overview · https://www.beam.cloud/blog/2026-sandbox-guide · https://www.beam.cloud/blog/modal-pricing-explained
